Citation Awards


Director of Alumni Relations

E-mail Dania


Twenty two years ago, the Sarah Lawrence Alumni Association established an annual recognition program to honor outstanding Sarah Lawrence alumni.

The Citation for Achievement is awarded to a person or persons whose work embodies the values and ideals of a Sarah Lawrence education, with the understanding that there is no one yardstick for achievement.

The Citation for Service is awarded to graduates for dedicated service to the College.

Nominations for the citation awards are sought for all alumni celebrating a milestone Reunion in 2018 (undergraduate class years ending in 3 and 8.) All nominations are confidential. The Citation Selection Committee will select the recipients from the nominations. The Citation Selection Committee may choose to award between one and three citations in each category per year, or exercise the option of not selecting anyone to receive either citation in a particular year.

Citation Awards will be presented on Saturday, June 9 at a celebratory luncheon during Reunion 2018. Learn more about the 2017 winners.

2017-2018 Alumni Citation Selection Committee

  • Peter van Dijk '82, Alumni Association President
  • Clarion Johnson '72, Trustee
  • Dania Abu-Shaheen ’04, Director of Alumni Relations
  • Cheryl Cipro, Director of Regional and Special Programming

If you have questions or comments about the potential nominees or the selection process, please contact the Office of Alumni Relations, at (914) 813-9210 or