Study Abroad in Sub-Saharan Africa

Contact

E-mail

914.395.2305

Make an impact—spend the spring semester studying and working in communities throughout Sub-Saharan Africa.

This semester-long study abroad program provides Sarah Lawrence students with the unique opportunity to study psychology, history, and public policy while getting hands-on experience with community-based work in three locations throughout Africa.

Academics

Spring 2018 will see the launch of Sarah Lawrence College and Pitzer in Sub-Saharan Africa. Sarah Lawrence students will join the Pitzer program, which is a multi-country (Tanzania, Botswana, South Africa, and Zimbabwe) comparative studies program that exposes students to important issues, cultures, and people of this region. We will continue to offer a focus on Human Development, learning how to understand, implement, and evaluate effective community-based work in each location. Students will begin the program in Tanzania and continue on to Botswana. Please contact Prema Samuel in the International Programs office for further information.

Admission

The Sarah Lawrence College in Sub-Saharan Africa program is offered in the spring semester only. The program is open to Sarah Lawrence students.

Applications & Deadlines

Completed application forms, letters of recommendation, academic interest statement, study abroad approval, and official transcripts are due by October 15.

Tuition & Fees

Sarah Lawrence tuition, per semester, will be $23,600. All other fees will be posted shortly.

Financial Aid

Sarah Lawrence College students who normally receive financial aid may apply their awards to any College-sponsored program abroad.

For more information about Sarah Lawrence financial aid options, e-mail the Office of International Programs.

Academic Calendar

Spring 2018
Sunday, January 7 Travel to Kilimanjaro, Tanzania
Flights arranged by Kim Rudd at Corniche Travel
Tuesday, January 9 Flight from Kilimanjaro to Mwanza, Tanzania
Sunday, January 21 Flight from Mwanza to Gaborone, Botswana
Monday, January 22 - Saturday, February 17 Students in Garbarone and in Manyana for Village Stay and Intensive Setswana
Sunday, February 18 - Saturday, February 24 Study Trip to Delta, Kasani, Victoria Falls, Hwange
Sunday, February 25 - Saturday, March 10 Students in Harare, Zimbabwe
Sunday, March 11 - Saturday, March 24 Students in Motopos, Zimbabwe
Wednesday, March 28 - Thursday, April 26 Students in Johannesburg, South Africa
Friday, April 27 - Sunday, May 27 Students return to Gabarone to begin Independent Study Projects (ISP)
Monday, May 28 - Wednesday, May 30 Final Seminar, ISP presentations, and Farewell Dinner
Friday, May 31 Return home
Flights arranged by Kim Rudd at Corniche Travel

Please note: internal travel dates are subject to change.

...