Faculty Achievements


Director of Graduate Admissions

E-mail Emanuel


New work by Kate Zambreno includes “Introductions by Kate Zambreno—A collaboration between B. Ingrid Olson and Kate Zambreno” in Bomb Magazine, “Accumulations (Appendix F)” in The White Review, and “Stills/Faces” in Affidavit.

Carolyn Ferrell’s story, “A History of China,” was chosen by editors Roxane Gay and Heidi Pitlor for inclusion in the Best American Short Stories 2018.

Joan Silber ’67 has won the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction and the National Book Critics Circle Award for her novel, Improvement.

“Mozart’s Final Hour” by D. Nurkse has been published in the February 2018 issue of The New Yorker.

Recycle is a collaboration between Sarah Gerard and writer/collage artist Amy Gall. The book features 42 original collages bookending an in-depth "collaged" conversation and is available for preorder through Pacific.

sam sax is a recipient of the Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University.

Gateway to the Moon by Mary Morris is due out this spring.

Monica Youn has been named a finalist for the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award for her collection, Blackacre.

Barren Island by Carol Zoref has been awarded the Goldberg Prize for Debut Fiction in the National Jewish Book Awards.

Marie Howe has been appointed a Chancellor to the Academy of American Poets.

The essay “Stick Control” by Jacob Slichter appears in the current issue of the online journal 1966.

Love in the Last Days by D. Nurkse is forthcoming from Knopf in Fall 2017.

Poet Matthea Harvey has been awarded a fellowship from the prestigious John Simon Guggenheim Foundation in the category of creative arts for 2017.

Kevin Pilkington's collection, Where You Want to Be: New and Selected Poems, is a 2017 IPPY Award Medalist in Poetry.

David Hollander MFA '97 has published a short story, Ghostwritten, on The Collagist.

David Ryan’s latest book, Malcolm Lowry’s Under the Volcano: Bookmarked, has been published by Ig Publishing.

Nicole Dennis-Benn MFA ’12 is featured in TimeOut’s Get to know immigrants who are putting their stamps on NYC.

Monica Youn has been awarded the William Carlos Williams Award by the Poetry Society of America.  

D. Nurkse has current poetry in a number of journals, including “Midwinter” in Ploughshares, “The School of Loneliness” in Kenyon Review, and “Poetry Recital,” “Half-Finished Houses,” and “Narva” in The Manhattan Review.

Monica Youn is a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry.

Leigh Newman has a story featured in The New York Times' Modern Love podcast

Blackacre by Monica Youn has been longlisted for the 2017 PEN Open Book Award.

Tina Chang and Nicole Dennis-Benn MFA '12 share their thoughts on the election in Art in the Wake of Trump.

Stephen O’Connor’s Thomas Jefferson Dreams of Sally Hemings has been featured as a 2016 notable work of fiction by The Washington Post.

The Washington Post has named Monica Youn’s Blackacre one the year’s best poetry collections.

Serendipity, the podcast by Ann Heppermann, was named in New York magazine's list of "20 Great Podcasts."

"Rise Up" by Martha Southgate was published in The American Scholar.

"The Birth of a Nation" by Vinson Cunningham was published in The New Yorker.

Tiphanie Yanique has won the Forward/Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection for her poetry collection Wife.

Monica Youn has been longlisted for the National Book Award for her collection, Blackacre (Graywolf Press).

Congratulations to Nelly Reifler whose story, History Lesson, is available as an audiobook thanks to McSweeney’s and Audible.

Thomas Jefferson Dreams of Sally Hemings by Stephen O’Connor has received rave reviews from The Washington Post: “It’s heartbreaking. It’s cathartic. It’s utterly brilliant.”

Congratulations to James Hannaham for winning the 2016 PEN/Faulkner Award.