Alumni Publications

Jane Quigley Alexander ’61

Jane Quigley Alexander '61Wild Things, Wild Places: Adventurous Tales of Wildlife and Conservation on Planet Earth

NONFICTION / KNOPF, 2016

The former chair of the National Endowment for the Arts, four-time Academy Award nominee, Tony Award winner, two-time Emmy Award winner, and environmental activist recounts her travels with scientists trying to save species around the world.


Laurie Blauner ’75

Laurie Blauner '75The Solace of Monsters

SCIENCE FICTION / LEAPFROG PRESS, 2016

A grieving father creates Mara F. as the fifth version of his daughter, building her from others’ body parts. In the tradition of Frankenstein, Blauner’s fourth novel explores questions about natural and artificial life.


Grace Bonner ’00

Grace Bonner '00Round Lake

POETRY / FOUR WAY, 2016

Including elegies for a sibling’s drug addiction as well as the death of a father by cancer and mother by suicide, Bonner’s poetry moves through loss toward love and life.


Gloria J. Browne-Marshall ’94

Gloria J. Browne-Marshall '94The Voting Rights War: The NAACP and the Ongoing Struggle for Justice

NONFICTION / ROWMAN & LITTLEFIELD PUBLISHERS, 2016

Browne-Marshall traces the history of the country’s oldest, largest, and most widely recognized grassroots-based civil rights organization and its battles for voting equality at the Supreme Court.


Lena Coakley ’90

Lena Coakley '90Worlds of Ink and Shadow

YOUNG ADULT FICTION / HARRY N. ABRAMS, 2016

Based on the Brontes’ juvenilia, this novel brings each of the siblings to life in a fantasy thriller. Charlotte, Branwell, Emily, and Anne literally create new worlds with their imaginations, but possibly at the cost of their sanity.


Ann Marie Dobosz ’97

Ann Marie Dobosz '97The Perfectionism Workbook for Teens: Activities to Help You Reduce Anxiety & Get Things Done

SELF-HELP / NEW HARBINGER PUBLICATIONS, 2016

Striving for perfection can be motivating, but it can also be destructive, causing anxiety, low self-esteem, and other mental health issues, particularly in teenagers. This practical workbook offers tools and exercises to develop self-compassion and self-confidence.


Susan Engel ’80 (co-author)

Susan Engel '80 (co-author)A School of Our Own

NONFICTION / THE NEW PRESS, 2016

Engel’s son, Samuel Levin, was a high school senior when he lobbied for and created a new school. Featured on NPR and in Newsweek and The Washington Post, Independent Project became the first student-run high school in America. A developmental psychologist and educator, Engel collaborated with her son to tell the story of that life-changing year.


Jason M. H. Gaines ’05

Jason M. H. Gaines '05The Poetic Priestly Source

RELIGION / FORTRESS PRESS, 2015

The Five Books of Moses contain numerous short poetic lines of striking beauty. In this study, Gaines proposes a new understanding of the extent and function of poetry in ancient Israelite literature.


Jon Grinspan ’06

Jon Grinspan '06The Virgin Vote: How Young Americans Made Democracy Social, Politics Personal, and Voting Popular in the Nineteenth Century

NONFICTION / THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA PRESS, 2016

Between the 1840s and the turn of the 20th century, young voters’ enthusiasm fueled high voter turnout. Through the diaries and letters of a diverse constituency, Grinspan explores how casting a “virgin vote” at 21 marked the beginning of adulthood.


Benjamin Hale ’05

Benjamin Hale '05The Fat Artist and Other Stories

FICTION / SIMON AND SCHUSTER, 2016

A recovering addict who takes a job driving a truck full of live squid and a performance artist who attempts to eat himself to death are just two of the vivid characters Hale places in unusual or extreme circumstances, creating alternative vignettes of American life.


Sheryl A. Kujawa-Holbrook MA ’79

sheryl Kujawa Holbrook MA '79Hildegard of Bingen: Essential Writings and Chants of a Christian Mystic

RELIGION / SKYLIGHT PATHS, 2016

Selected texts by the 12th-century abbess, composer, dramatist, poet, and healer are accompanied by annotations that provide historical context. An Episcopal priest, Kujawa-Holbrook illuminates Hildegard’s understanding of the spiritual and natural world.


Phillis Levin ’76

Phillis Levin '76Mr. Memory & Other Poems

POETRY / PENGUIN BOOKS, 2016

Referencing filmmaker Alfred Hitchcock, painter Pieter Bruegel, Greek philosopher Zeno, and Anne Frank, among others, Levin’s fifth collection employs a variety of poetic forms.


Robyn Schiff ’95

Robyn Schiff '95A Woman of Property

POETRY / PENGUIN BOOKS, 2016

Schiff’s third collection of poetry plucks analogies from every aspect of life, from flu season to deer hunting.


Cathleen Schine ’75

Cathleen Schine '75They May Not Mean To, But They Do

FICTION / SARAH CRICHTON BOOKS, 2016

In this humorous and compassionate novel, aging family matriarch Joy Bergman is facing life without her beloved husband, but not necessarily in the way her children would like.


Daniel Traub ’94

Daniel Traub '94Little North Road: Africa in China

PHOTOGRAPHY / KEHRER VERLAG, 2016

A pedestrian bridge in the middle of Guangzhou serves as a symbolic gateway into China from Africa. Traub’s photographs provide context for the work of two itinerant Chinese portrait photographers, Wu Yong Fu and Zeng Xian Fang, who make their living taking pictures of Africans seeking a memento of their time in China.


Tracy Tynan ’75

Tracy Tynan '75Wear and Tear: The Threads of My Life

MEMOIR / SCRIBNER, 2016

With a powerful theatre critic as a father and a successful writer as a mother, Tynan grew up in social circles where style was paramount. In her memoir, she curates the stories of her life as carefully as the pieces of clothing in her closet.



Ronnie Apter ’65 (co-author)

Translating for Singing: The Theory, Art, and Craft of Translating Lyrics

MUSIC / BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING, 2016

Apter and co-author Mark Herman focus on practical techniques for creating lyrics that can still be sung to existing music.


Amy Beth Arkawy ’83

Murder, She Tweets

FICTION / COZY CAT PRESS, 2016

Eliza Gordon returns in the third novel of the series, this time investigating the murder of a high-profile college admissions officer. Former soap opera actress Gordon also has troubles of her own, with a threatening fan tracking her on social media.


Sally Booth ’81 (contributor)

International Schools: Current Issues and Future Prospects

(Edited by Mary Hayden & Jeff Thompson)

NONFICTION / OXFORD STUDIES IN COMPARATIVE EDUCATION, 2016

Booth and chapter co-authors Malcolm McKenzie and Edward Shanahan share lessons learned in opening a world school.


Joel Brouwer ’90

Off Message

POETRY / FOUR WAY, 2016

From the 140 characters of Twitter to the worldwide broadcasting of warfare, Brouwer slices through modern life in poems that consider the global and the individual.


Kendra DeColo ’05

My Dinner with Ron Jeremy

POETRY / THIRD MAN BOOKS, 2016

DeColo’s poetry reveals the underbelly of love and desire, taking readers to unexpected places: White Castle drive-thrus, synagogue parking lots, and Planned Parenthood waiting rooms.


Brandi Megan Scollins Granett MFA ’98

Triple Love Score

FICTION / WYATT-MACKENZIE PUBLISHING, 2016

A poetry professor in a small town, Miranda’s life is quiet and filled with books. But when she accidentally finds fame as an anonymous online Scrabble® poet, she must choose which path she prefers.


Pamela Howard ’62 (prologue)

Newsmaker

BIOGRAPHY / LYONS PRESS, 2016

Writing the foreword and providing 50 years of personal papers and diaries, Howard collaborated with journalist Patricia Beard to profile her famous grandfather, Roy W. Howard, the first global news entrepreneur.


Jason Irwin MFA ’04

A Blister of Stars

POETRY / LOW GHOST PRESS, 2016

Irwin’s newest collection of poetry follows his 2014 chapbook Where You Are.


Helen Lamberton Gates ’60

Ghost Tears

FICTION / SUNSTONE PRESS, 2016

Delia Hager Duval and husband Jean-Paul are spending their Christmas holidays in an old Santa Fe house that’s said to be haunted. When a stranger appears and a girl is murdered, the Duvals must solve the mystery.


Gunilla Dryselius Norris ’60

Joy Is the Thinnest Layer

POETRY / HOMEBOUND PUBLICATIONS, 2016

A psychotherapist, Norris shares a lifetime of insight and wisdom through this collection of emotionally nuanced poems.


Tommy Pico ’06

IRL

POETRY / BIRDS, LLC, 2016

Originally from the Viejas Indian reservation of the Kumeyaay nation, Pico navigates life in Brooklyn in this book-length, text-message-like poem in the traditions of A.R. Ammon, ancient Kumeyaay Bird Songs—and Beyoncé albums.


Meredith Trede MFA ’95

Tenement Threnody

POETRY / MAIN STREET RAG PRESS, 2016

A threnody is a lamentation, but this book is also a celebration. Trede’s poems capture tenement life and voices from a lost world.


Anita Wadhwa MFA ’01

Restorative Justice in Urban Schools: Disrupting the School-to-Prison Pipeline

POETRY / MAIN STREET RAG PRESS, 2016

An ethnographic portrait for educators seeking to break the connection between suspension from school and incarceration in prison, this book shows ways to build positive school cultures while addressing disciplinary problems.


Estha Weiner ’72 and Ann Cefola ’81, MFA ’97 (contributors)

Rabbit Ears: TV Poems

POETRY / NYQ BOOKS, 2015

The first anthology of poetry about television, Rabbit Ears explores the many ways TV has influenced our lives and our culture.