Faculty Structure

The music faculty, which consists of 17 regular and guest faculty, along with 17 Affiliate Artists and Special Appointments, continues the Sarah Lawrence tradition of having working professional musicians as instrumental, vocal, and composition teachers.


  • Martin Goldray (Piano, History)
  • Carsten Schmidt (Piano, Harpsichord)
  • John Yannelli (Composition & Technology)
  • Thomas Young (Voice)


  • Glenn Alexander (Jazz)
  • William Anderson (Guitar)
  • Niko Higgins (Ethnomusicology)
  • Paul Kerekes (Composition & Theory)
  • Bari Mort (Piano)
  • Patrick Muchmore (Composition & Theory)
  • Molly Quinn (Voice)
  • Mary Phillips (Voice)

Affiliate Artists & Special Appointments

Our Affiliate Artist Program consists of an adjunct faculty which teaches all instruments—except piano and voice which are taught by part- or full-time faculty on campus—and includes classical and jazz guitarists, early music performers, sight-singing and dictation teachers, and additional affiliate artists drawn from the New York Philharmonic, the Metropolitan Opera Orchestra and New York's and Westchester's professional community of performers, composers, and conductors. Lessons are arranged by audition. Affiliate artists often participate in readings of new student works, one outlet of which is the Composers' Workshop, as well as playing in student chamber ensembles at least once a semester on campus. Numerous artists make frequent guest appearances in conjunction with Master Classes and the Concert Series.

Individual Instruction (Composition, Piano, Voice, Instrument)

  • Composition—Patrick Muchmore, Paul Kerekes, John Yannelli
  • Guitar (acoustic), Banjo & Mandolin—William Anderson
  • Guitar (jazz/blues)—Glenn Alexander
  • Bass (jazz/blues)—Bill Moring
  • Harpsichord & Fortepiano—Carsten Schmidt
  • Harpsichord—Carsten Schmidt
  • Piano—Martin Goldray, Bari Mort, Carsten Schmidt
  • Piano (jazz)—Billy Lester
  • Voice—Molly Quinn, Mary Phillips, Thomas Young
  • Flute—Roberta Michel
  • Oboe—Stuart Breczinksi, James Smith
  • Clarinet—Benjamin Fingland
  • Bassoon—James Jeter
  • Trumpet—Jon Owens
  • Tuba—Andrew Bove
  • Percussion—Matt Wilson (drum set)
  • Percussion—Ian Antonio (mallet)
  • Harp—Kirsten Agresta
  • Violin—Calvin Wiersma
  • Viola—Daniel Panner
  • Violoncello—James Wilson
  • Contrabass—Mark Helias