The 2021 Kathryn Gurfein Writing Fellowship Celebration, hosted by the Writing Institute

Virtual Online

Open to the public

/ Sunday


Please join The Writing Institute for a celebration of The Kathryn Gurfein Writing Fellowship. We will announce the 2021 Gurfein Writing Fellow and honor last year's recipients and their mentors:

Mary Grace Colangelo and mentor Marian Thurm

Lori McLaughlin and mentor David Ryan

The Kathryn Gurfein Writing Fellowship at Sarah Lawrence College was founded in 2005 after Kathy Gurfein experienced first-hand the talent and dedication of Writing Institute students. "At the Writing Institute I found a group of serious, passionately dedicated writers. No matter what class I took, the writing was always of a high caliber. The environment was very nurturing, and so was everyone there—when you're around people with that kind of dedication, it sparks that same creativity. It inspired me to create the Fellowship."

This one of a kind fellowship provides a recipient, chosen by a select panel of judges, with a yearlong opportunity to work closely with a mentor on a writing project of their choice. Current and past judges have included Christina Adams, Mark Medoff, Lynda Sturner, Rachel Cohen, Barbara Gordon, Andrew Gross, Stephen Lang, Marian Thurm, and Jon Pessah. Previous Gurfein Writing Fellows have been signed by literary agents and published in newspapers, magazines, and journals.

Please RSVP here

For more information about the Writing Institute at Sarah Lawrence College, visit our website at