Sarah Lawrence College prohibits all forms of hazing. Not only is hazing against New York State law, but it also humiliates, degrades and endangers its participants. Any instances of hazing should be immediately reported to Sarah Lawrence College’s Department of Public Safety and Security. All allegations of hazing shall be fully investigated. Individual violators are subject to disciplinary actions by the college. Any organizational violators may have their permission to operate on campus withdrawn. All students, faculty, staff and on campus visitors or invitees are subject to these regulations. In addition, violators are also subject to any applicable provisions of the Penal Code.
Sarah Lawrence College Defines Hazing as:
Any action taken or situation created which, regardless of location or consent of the participants, recklessly or intentionally endangers mental or physical health or involves forced consumption of alcohol or other drugs for the purpose of initiation into or affiliation with any organization at Sarah Lawrence College.
Such activities and situations include, but are not limited to:
- Physical and psychological shocks
- Morally degrading or humiliating games, and activities
- Coercing or forcing illegal acts
- Personal servitude
- Sexual harassment
If found responsible for hazing, students can be subject to any of the following sanctions:
- Permanent expulsion from the college
- Suspension from the college
- Permanent loss of campus housing
- Suspension from campus housing
- Housing probation
- Social Probation
Possible penalties for hazing committed by faculty or staff include warnings, formal reprimands, suspension without pay, or termination of employment.
On campus visitors or invitees to the campus engaging in hazing are subject to ejection from campus property and/or arrest.
Hazing is against the law.
According to the New York State Penal Code:
- A person is guilty of hazing in the first degree when, in the course of another person’s initiation into or affiliation with any organization, he intentionally or recklessly engages in conduct which creates a substantial risk of physical injury to such other person or a third person and thereby causes such injury.
- Hazing in the first degree is a class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year of imprisonment, or fine up to $1000 or both.
- A person is guilty of hazing in the second degree when, in the course of another person’s initiation or affiliation with any organization, he intentionally or recklessly engages in conduct which creates a substantial risk of physical injury to such other person or a third person.
Hazing in the second degree is a violation punishable by up to 15 days of imprisonment, or fine up to $250.00 or both.