Alumni Awarded Prestigious Guggenheim Fellowships

Playwright David Adjmi '93, choreographer Pam Tanowitz MFA '98, and artist Janine Antoni '86 are among a select group of 180 scholars, artists, and scientists who were awarded the prestigious Guggenheim fellowship in 2011. Successful candidates were chosen from 3,000 applicants, and were selected on the basis of achievement and exceptional promise.

David Adjmi's plays include Stunning, The Evildoers, Marie Antoinette, Strange Attractors, Elective Affinities and Caligula. Last year Adjmi was one of ten recipients of the 2010 Whiting Writer's Award and his plays have earned him a Bush Artist's Fellowship, and Jerome, McKnight, Cherry Lane Theatre, and Kesselring Fellowships. Adjmi has also received the Helen Merrill Award, a Marian Seldes-Garson Kanin Award, a Lecomte du Nouy Award, and a Steinberg Playwright Award.

"David could always be counted on for his passion, insight and intelligence as a writer," said Allen Lang MFA '95, co-director of Theater Outreach at Sarah Lawrence, who took playwriting classes with Adjmi.

Pam Tanowitz Dance, founded by the choreographer in 2000, has received commissions and residencies at coveted New York theaters including Dance Theater Workshop, Danspace Project, Joyce SoHo, The Guggenheim Museum's Works & Process program, Baryshnikov Arts Center and Central Park Summerstage. In 2001, it was one of only three companies in the United States invited to perform at the American Dance Festival in Durham, NC, as part of the Emerging Generations concert.

"In Pam's dances delicate physicality and effortless spontaneity coexist in a rigorously satisfying formality that is the result of a highly thoughtful and kinesthetic intelligence," said Dance faculty member Rose Anne Thom, who taught Tanowitz.

The artistic work of Janine Antoni has been exhibited at the Whitney Museum of American Art, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, S.I.T.E. Santa Fe, and the Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin. She is the past recipient of several prestigious awards including a John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Fellowship in 1998 and the Larry Aldrich Foundation Award in 1999.