Annual Weekend-Long Poetry Festival

The largest free poetry festival in the East returns to Sarah Lawrence College on Friday, April 27. Organized entirely by students, the Fourth Annual Sarah Lawrence College Poetry Festival will feature more than fifty readers throughout the weekend, including Yusef Komunyakaa, Paul Muldoon, Susan Howe, and Cornelius Eady. Attendees will take part in craft talks, receptions, book signings, and an open mic. The Festival closes Sunday, April 29 with a performance by the Irish poet Muldoon’s “three-car garage band,” Rackett. For more information, please call 914-395-2412.

The list of esteemed and prize-winning readers also includes Victor Hernandez Cruz, Sonia Sanchez, Philip Levine, Kimiko Hahn, Srikanth Reddy, Richard Siken, Rebecca Wolff, Catherine Barnett, and Larissa Szporluk, as well as Sarah Lawrence College writing faculty members Vijay Seshadri, Matthea Harvey, Thomas Sayers Ellis, Cathy Park Hong, and Jeffrey McDaniel. Each poet is paired with a graduate and an undergraduate, who open with brief readings of their own.

The festival is sponsored by Poets & Writers Magazine, through the New York State Council for the Arts, and Sarah Lawrence College.

The Sarah Lawrence College Poetry Festival was created by graduate student Liz Irmiter in 2004 to celebrate the many different voices that exist in contemporary poetry—from formalism to free verse, from the lyric to the narrative to the experimental, as well as the College’s rich literary history.

Background on some of the readers:

Victor Hernandez Cruz: Guggenheim Award, New York Poetry Foundation Award, author of Tropicalization, Red Beans, Panoramas, Marca: New and Selected Poems

Susan Howe: American Book Award, winner of a Guggenheim Fellowship, author of Pierce-Arrow, Secret History of the Dividing Line, Singularities, The Midnight

Yusef Komunyakaa: Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, author of Taboo, Talking Dirty to the Gods, Pleasure Dome, Thieves of Paradise, Magic City

Philip Levine: Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, National Book Award, Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, author of A Walk with Tom Jefferson, What Work Is, The Simple Truth, Unselected Poems, Breath

Paul Muldoon: Pulitzer Prize for Poetry, Shakespeare Prize, Aspen Prize for Poetry, author of Horse Latitudes, Moy Sand and Gravel, General Admission, Sixty Instant Messages to Tom Moore

Sonia Sanchez: American Book Award, National Endowment for the Arts Award, Pew Fellowship in the Arts, author of Homegirls and Handgrenades, Shake Loose My Skin: New and Selected Poems, Does your house have lions