Third Annual Poetry Festival

Sarah Lawrence College's Third Annual Poetry Festival will be held on the College's campus April 21-23. The weekend-long festival features both daytime and evening readings by 16 of the finest poets writing today. Sarah Lawrence student poets will read during sessions shared with guest poets, showcasing innovative student work. The festival is free and open to the public. Following is the schedule and bios for the visiting poets. For additional information, please call 914-395-2412.

Friday, April 21
7:30 p.m.
Eleanor Wilner
Gerald Stern

Saturday, April 22
1 p.m.
Craft Talk with Eleanor Wilner

2:15 p.m.
Kate Knapp Johnson
Mark Bibbins

3:30 p.m.
Joan Larkin
Joel Brouwer

4:45 p.m.
David Baker
Claudia Rankine

7:30 p.m.
Marie Ponsot
Frank Bidart

9:30 p.m.
Matt Cook

Sunday, April 23
1 p.m.
Kevin Pilkington
Rigoberto González

2:15 p.m.
Tina Chang
Mark Conway

4:45 p.m.
Martha Rhodes
Nick Flynn

7:30 p.m.
Jean Valentine
Stephen Dunn

David Baker is the author of eight books of poetry, most recently Midwest Eclogue and Treatise on Touch: Selected Poems, and three books of criticism. Among his awards are fellowships and prizes from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, National Endowment for the Arts, Ohio Arts Council, Poetry Society of America, Society of Midland Authors, and the Pushcart Foundation.

Mark Bibbins’ first collection of poems, Sky Lounge, received a Lambda Literary Award. He was a recent poetry fellow for the New York Foundation for the Arts.

Frank Bidart's most recent full-length collections of poetry are Desire and In the Western Night: Collected Poems 1965–90. He has won many prizes, including the Wallace Stevens Award.

Joel Brouwer’s Exactly What Happened received the Larry Levis Prize. He has held fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing, and the Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation.

Tina Chang is the author of Half-Lit Houses. Her poems have been anthologized in Identity Lessons, Poetry Nation, Asian American Literature, Asian American Poetry: The Next Generation, and Poetry 30: Poets in Their Thirties. She has received awards from the New York Foundation for the Arts, Poets & Writers, and The Academy of American Poets.

Mark Conway's Any Holy City was published in 2005. He is poetry editor of Post Road.

Matt Cook's writing has appeared in Aloud: Vioces from the Nuyorican Poets Café and Poetry Slam: The Competitive Art of Performance Poetry. Several of the poems from his first collection, In the Small of My Backyard, have been read by Garrison Keillor on NPR's Writer's Almanac.

Nick Flynn's Another Bullshit Night in Suck City won the PEN/Martha Albrand Award for the Art of the Memoir. He is also the author of two books of poetry, Some Ether, winner of the PEN/Joyce Osterweil Award, and Blind Huber. He has been awarded fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, The Library of Congress, The Amy Lowell Trust, and the Fine Arts Work Center.

Rigoberto González is the author of two books of poetry, So Often the Pitcher Goes to Water until It Breaks, a selection of the National Poetry Series, and Other Fugitives and Other Strangers, forthcoming in the fall of 2006. Besides numerous artist residencies abroad, he has received fellowships from the Guggenheim foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Kate Johnson’s most recent book of poetry, Wind Somewhere and Shade, received a 2001 Gradiva Award.

Joan Larkin's new and selected poems, My Body, will be published in 2007. She has edited four anthologies of poetry and prose, serves as poetry editor for the new queer literary journal, Bloom, and co-edits the Living Out autobiography series at the University of Wisconsin Press. Winner of the 1998 Lambda Award for poetry, she has also received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York Foundation for the Arts, and the Massachusetts Cultural Council.

Kevin Pilkington’s collection Spare Change was the La Jolla Poets Press National Book Award winner and his chapbook won the Ledge Poetry Prize. His collection entitled Ready to Eat the Sky was recently published, as was a new chapbook entitled St. Andrews Head. Over the years, he has been nominated for four Pushcarts.

Claudia Rankine is the author of four collections of poetry and is co-editor of American Women Poets In the Twenty-First Century. Her poetry is included in several anthologies, including Great American Prose Poems: From Poe to the Present, The Best American Poetry 2001, Giant Step: African American Writing at the Crossroads of the Century and The Garden Thrives: Twentieth Century African-American Poetry.

Martha Rhodes is the author of Mother Quiet, Perfect Disappearance, winner of the 2000 Green Rose Prize, and At the Gate. Her poems have been anthologized in The Extraordinary Tide: New Poetry by American Women and The New American Poets: A Bread Loaf Anthology.

Gerald Stern's books of poetry include Everything Is Burning, American Sonnets, and This Time: New and Selected Poems, which won the National Book Award. He is the recipient of many awards, including the 2005 Wallace Stevens Award for mastery in the art of poetry, the Lamont Prize, a Guggenheim, three NEA awards, a fellowship from The Academy of Arts and Letters, and the Ruth Lilly Prize.

Jean Valentine is the author of ten books of poetry, including her most recent collection, Door in the Mountain: New and Collected Poems, which was the winner of the 2004 National Book Award for Poetry. Valentine's first book, published in 1965, was the recipient of the Yale Younger Poets Prize. Valentine has also been the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Maurice English Prize, a Sara Teasdale Award, and awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, The Bunting Institute, The Rockefeller Foundation, and The New York Council for the Arts.

Eleanor Wilner has published several collections of poems, most recently Reversing the Spell: New and Selected Poems, Otherwise, and Sarah's Choice. Her work has been anthologized in Best American Poetry 1990 and The Norton Anthology of Poetry. She is the former editor of The American Poetry Review and a contributing editor of Calyx. Among her awards are the MacArthur Foundation Fellowship, the Juniper Prize, the Pushcart Prize, and grants from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts.