Academic Calendars

Undergraduate 

Spring 2016

Sunday, January 17

Students return

Tuesday, January 19 and
Wednesday, January 20

Donning, interviews, and registration

Tuesday, January 19

Year-long classes resume

Thursday, January 21

Students placed in first choice courses

Friday, January 22

Donning and interviews for alternate registration
(No classes on Friday)

Monday, January 25

Spring classes begin; beginning of add/drop period

Saturday, March 12 through
Sunday, March 27

Spring Break

Friday, May 6

Senior work due (faculty may establish earlier deadlines)

Friday, May 13

Last day of classes; faculty reports due for graduating students

Sunday, May 15

Residence Halls close for First Years, Sophomores, and Juniors at 5 p.m.

Friday, May 20

Commencement
Residence Halls close for Seniors at 8 p.m.

Monday, June 6

Faculty reports due for all students

Fall 2016

Saturday, August 27

Opening Day
New students arrive

Sunday, August 28

Orientation

Monday, August 29

Returning students arrive
Check-in and move-in for returning students

Tuesday, August 30 through
Thursday, September 1

Donning, interviews, and registration

Friday, September 2

Students placed in first choice courses

Saturday, September 3

Donning and interviews for alternate registration

Sunday, September 4

Students placed in alternate courses

Monday, September 5

Classes begin

Tuesday, September 6

Convocation
South Lawn, 1:30 – 3 p.m.

Friday, September 16

Last day to add and drop classes for Fall 2016 semester

Monday, October 17
Tuesday, October 18

October Study Days

Wednesday, November 23 through
Sunday, November 27

Thanksgiving break
(Begins after last academic appointment on Tuesday)

Friday, December 16

Last day of classes

Saturday, December 17

Residence Halls close at 10 a.m.

Monday, January 9

Faculty reports due for Fall 2016 semester

Spring 2017

Sunday, January 15

Students return

Tuesday, January 17 and
Wednesday, January 18

Donning, interviews, and registration

Tuesday, January 17

Year-long classes resume

Thursday, January 19

Students placed in first choice courses

Friday, January 20

Donning and interviews for alternate registration
(No classes on Friday)

Monday, January 23

Spring classes begin; beginning of add/drop period

Friday, February 3

Last day to add and drop classes for Spring 2017 semester

Monday, February 6 through Friday, February 10

Fourth course and audit requests may be filed

Saturday, March 11 through
Sunday, March 26

Spring Break

Friday, May 5

Senior work due (faculty may establish earlier deadlines)

Friday, May 12

Last day of classes; faculty reports due for graduating students

Sunday, May 14

Residence Halls close for First Years, Sophomores, and Juniors at 5 p.m.

Friday, May 19

Commencement
Residence Halls close for seniors at 8 p.m.

Monday, June 5

Faculty reports due for all students

Graduate 

Spring 2016

Tuesday, January 19 and
Wednesday, January 20

Interviewing and registration for spring courses offered in conjunction with undergraduate classes for the following programs: Child Development, Dance, Theatre, and Women’s History

Tuesday,  January 19

Yearlong classes resume

Spring classes begin for the Human Genetics and Writing programs

Friday, January 22

Alternate interviews and registration

Monday, January 25

Spring classes begin

Saturday, March 12 –
Sunday, March 27

Spring Break

Friday, May 13

Last day of classes

Thursday, May 19

Graduate Commencement