Academic Calendars

Undergraduate 

Spring 2020

Sunday, January 19

Students return 9 a.m.

Tuesday, January 21 and Wednesday, January 22

Donning, interviews, and registration

Year-long classes resume

Thursday, January 23

Students placed in first choice courses

Friday, January 24

Donning and interviews for alternate registration (no classes on Friday)

Saturday, January 25

Students placed in alternate courses

Monday, January 27

Spring classes begin

Beginning of add/drop period

Friday, February 7

Last day to add and drop classes for spring 2020 semester

Monday, February 10–Friday, February 14

Fourth course and audit requests may be filed

Saturday, March 14–Sunday, March 22

Spring break

Friday, May 1

Senior work due (faculty may establish earlier deadlines)

Friday, May 8

Last day of classes

Faculty reports due for graduating students

Saturday, May 9

Residence halls close for first-years, sophomores, and juniors at 5 p.m.

Thursday, May 14

Undergraduate pre-commencement event for families

Friday, May 15

Commencement

Residence halls close for seniors at 8 p.m.

Monday, June 1

Faculty reports due for non-graduating students.

Fall 2020

Saturday, August 29

Opening Day

New students arrive

Sunday, August 30

Orientation

Monday, August 31

Returning students arrive

Tuesday, September 1–Thursday, September 3

Donning, interviews, and registration

Friday, September 4

Students placed in first choice courses

Saturday, September 5

Donning and interviews for alternate registration

Sunday, September 6

Students placed in alternate courses

Monday, September 7

Classes begin
Beginning of add/drop period

Friday, September 18

Last day to add and drop classes for fall 2020

Monday, October 12 and Tuesday, October 13

October Study Days

Friday, October 23 through Sunday, October 25

Family Weekend

Wednesday, November 25–Sunday, November 29

Thanksgiving break (begins after last academic appointment on Tuesday)

Monday, December 7–Wednesday, December 16

Students may drop yearlong courses for spring 2021 semester

Wednesday, December 9 Last day for graduating seniors to submit work

Wednesday, December 16

Winter Commencement

Friday, December 18

Last day of classes

Saturday, December 19

Residence halls close 10 a.m.

Friday, January 8, 2021

Faculty reports due for fall 2020 semester

Spring 2021

Sunday, January 17

Students return

Monday, January 18 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
No classes

Tuesday, January 19 and Wednesday, January 20

Donning, interviews, and registration

Year-long classes resume on January 19

Thursday, January 21

Students placed in first choice courses

Friday, January 22

Donning and interviews for alternate registration (no classes on Friday)

Saturday, January 23

Students placed in alternate courses

Monday, January 25

Spring classes begin
Beginning of add/drop period

Friday, February 5

Last day to add and drop classes for spring 2021 semester

Saturday, March 13–Sunday, March 21

Spring break

Friday, April 30

Senior work due (faculty may establish earlier deadlines)

Friday, May 7

Last day of classes
Faculty reports due for graduating students

Saturday, May 8

Residence halls close for first years, sophomores, and juniors at 5 p.m.

Thursday, May 13

Graduate commencement

Friday, May 14

Undergraduate Commencement
Residence halls close for seniors at 8 p.m.

Wednesday, June 2

Faculty reports due for non-graduating students

Graduate & Professional (Onsite Programs) 

Spring 2020

Tuesday, January 21 and Wednesday, January 22

Interviewing and registration for spring courses offered in conjunction with undergraduate classes for the following programs: Child Development, Dance, Theatre, and Women’s History

Yearlong classes resume

Spring classes begin for the Health Advocacy traditional onsite and Human Genetics programs

Friday, January 24

Alternate interviews and registration

Monday, January 27

Spring classes begin

Beginning of add/drop period

Friday, February 7

Last day to add and drop classes for spring 2020 semester

Monday, February 10–Friday, February 14

Audit requests may be filed

Saturday, March 14–Sunday, March 22

Spring break

Friday, May 8

Last day of classes

Faculty reports due for graduating students

Thursday, May 14

Graduate Commencement

Monday, June 1

Faculty reports due for non-graduating students.

Fall 2020

Monday, August 31

Beginning Students Orientation (Returning Students should refer to their individual Orientation schedule.)

All second year Art of Teaching and Theatre students must attend their individual Program Directors meeting on Monday, August 31.

Monday, September 7

Classes begin

Beginning of add/drop period

Friday, September 18

Last day to add and drop classes for fall 2020 semester

Monday, September 21–Friday, September 25

Audit requests may be filed

Monday, October 12 and Tuesday, October 13

October Study Days

Wednesday, November 25–Sunday, November 29

Thanksgiving break

Wednesday, December 16

Winter Commencement

Friday, December 18

Last day of classes

Friday, January 8, 2021

Faculty reports due for fall 2020 semester

Spring 2021

Tuesday, January 19 and Wednesday, January 20

Interviewing and registration for spring courses offered in conjunction with undergraduate classes for the following programs: Child Development, Dance, Theatre, and Women’s History

Yearlong classes resume

Spring classes begin for the Human Genetics program

Friday, January 22

Alternate interviews and registration

Monday, January 25

Spring classes begin

Beginning of add/drop period

Friday, February 5

Last day to add and drop classes for spring 2020 semester

Monday, February 8–Friday, February 12

Audit requests may be filed

Saturday, March 13–Sunday, March 21

Spring break

Friday, May 7

Last day of classes

Faculty reports due for graduating students

Thursday, May 13

Graduate Commencement

Wednesday, June 2

Faculty reports due for non-graduating students.